What Makes Your Trip Memorable?

Hello from tropical Cairns! The new year has been so so busy! Aside from work, I have been traveling a lot and some more are still to come. My parents were down for a visit just in time for Chinese New Year. We drove down to Melbourne and went to see Mount Kosciuszko, the highest point in Australia, along the way. The real adventure began right after Mount Kosciuszko. As soon as we passed the town of Thredbo,  the indicator shows the gas tank is nearly empty. Time to fuel, right? It didn’t look like there’s gonna be any petro stations nearby for a long time as we are trying to exit Kosciuszko National Park.

50 kilometres later, we were getting really worried that the car could stop on the road any moment. The winding road is dangerous to drive on its own. In order to save fuel, we stopped using the brake if we are going downhill. We were constantly turning the steering wheel at high speed as a result. After another 30km of crazy driving, we finally spotted a petrol station.

I realized this about myself: I loved this experience. The feeling that we will run out of fuel on the road with no cell phone reception is scary. To be honest, it is so exciting at the same time.There were so many possibilities. What if I have to hitchhike when it didn’t seem like there were gonna be cars passing by all the time? What if the car stop in the middle of the road and it becomes a hazard for all the other cars? It could turn out  to be such an adventure that I will remember for a long time. The adrenalin kicks in and so does all that excitement!

Back to present day, I am currently more than half way through my 6 days holiday in Cairns. Prior to coming, I have heard amazing things about Cairns. One of the must see/do when in Australia is the Great Barrier Reef from Cairns.

Even after overcoming challenges at the beginning of the tour (such as getting sick because it is too hot), I felt something was missing in this trip. It didn’t feel right.

6 months ago, I packed my bags and came to Australia. Why did I choose to go on an internship in Australia for a year instead of merely taking a few weeks to tour the land down under?

When you go on trips, what is your expectation? I am developing a love for photography (You definitely should have figured out by now if you follow my blog). We all love seeing beautiful things. I want to take pictures that capture the moment. When I see a large crowd all trying to take pictures at the same time, it turns me off. It makes nature unnatural.

I see my patience running thin when self-obsessed people trying to take 100 pictures at the same spot so by the end of it, they would have one good shot that becomes their facebook profile and occupying the space so other people cannot have good shots.

When you go on trips, how do you define that you got most out of it? That you went to as many places as possible and take countless pictures to share on social media? If that is the case, what is memorable about the trip? Do you even remember all the places that you went to that correspond to each picture?

Before coming to Cairns, I was stressed out that I didn’t have much time to do research and not sure where I should go other than Great Barrier Reef. Now I think back: it is great if I did my research and know all the key places that I should go, but there is something more important and what makes it memorable —

the connections that I make… The things that I did with my friends; the obstacles we had to overcome; they are all part of the fun! Those are the stories that I want to share with friends and family years to come. (I don’t think I will ever forget to gas up my car again!)This is the missing piece in my jigsaw puzzle. This is why I don’t want to be a tourist in Australia. I want to live here for a while. I’d rather that I am missing some pictures  but have memories that refuse to leave my brain than a trip that felt like I have been traveling on my own when my ‘friends’ are around (the irony)

I promise to get those postcards going! Peace out!

PS Sorry for the lack of updates. I have been getting lots of feedback [some approached me in person :)]  on my blog entry “Where are you from?” Thanks all for reading my blog. Love your feedbacks!

XOXO

Leave a Reply

