Love Them Fresh Fruit Juices

If you know me for a while, you know how I feel about eating vegetables. There are so many that I dread. I feel challenged eating raw vegetables, which means salads and I do not get along.

In the fertile land by the Nile, agriculture is abundant. Most who have ever lived in Egypt will tell you about the fresh fruit juice bars in the streets of Cairo. You can find anything from sugar cane to carrots at convenient prices. My favourite has to be the strawberry juice, which taste the best in winter time.

Photo credit: Elizabeth Skene

The “bars” are not ideal places for catching up with a friend you haven’t seen for a long time. There’s no sitting area or ambience that you normally expect. You go there for the juices and Khalas (that’s it).

Any juice bars in Canada is no match. Admittedly, I haven’t been to many back home. However, can you imagine someone who dislike salad so much that she would leave it completely untouched started eating salad in Egypt? It is an attestation to the taste and quality. Salad is still not my favourite dish, but it is not bad.

Back to my homeland, everything is good. But strawberries will never be the same. So are mangoes (in summer). They will live in my heart till the next time I visit.


Fact: Just when I thought I had the best fresh fruit juices in my life, I learnt that in the late 1980s, the government imported the seeds from foreign countries and tossed the domestic ones for unknown reasons. Ever since then, the produce are not as good as before.

Leave a Reply

