The Art of Consistency

In an effort to keep up with this blog, I set the goal of writing 1~2 blog posts per week when I came back to blogging in September last year. I was keeping up with it, until the past 2 months.

I started to have writer’s block. My creativity and inspiration seems to come and go at random times and I can’t keep it at bay. Blogging seems to take a big chunk of my time as I want to do more research and check the facts (rather than solely relying on what I was told). It was stressing me out that I don’t have a quality article to post given my 1 week timeframe.

I have many ideas on blog topics but my brain refused to organize them and put them in sentences. I want to do the research and talk to my friends in other countries in order to make sure I have the facts and an even greater understanding.  It was to the point that I don’t even want to work on it. I started have the image that even one blog post can take me days and days to write, re-write, edit, and proofread. It will take me a few more days to select and edit which photos to use.

Once I fell off my schedule, it was so hard to stay motivated and get back. I was thinking of excuses not to write anything. It is too time-consuming. I began to self-doubt. My blog ideas are not good enough for me to press the “Publish” button. What if I can’t come up with good content again? What if I write something subpar (My perfectionist self can take a toll on me at times)?


Since November last year, I started to jog every few days. I made one of my new year resolutions to stay fit and do cardio 2~3 times a week. I have been fairly consistent with it. Even on a very rainy day, I tried to find a time when the rain is taking a break and do my run.

About a week ago, I started to become more busy. I didn’t have time to run for almost a whole week. I can feel that my body already feels different. I didn’t want to run. My body is telling me “I’m tired” even though I have been inactive the whole day. A part of me is saying I should get back on track and start running again, the other part of me is thinking about how much I hate running in such cold weather. The “procrastinate till tomorrow” attitude kicked in.

Yesterday, I finally set aside some time for jogging during the day. Even though it has only been a week, it was impossible for me to keep up with my previous speed already.

With many things in life, even a few slip ups can have large impact on the overall progress. It is too easy to simply fall back into old habits. Consistency is key. I’m adding this to my resolution for 2015.

6 thoughts on “The Art of Consistency

  1. I like the analogy between running and writing, they are both interests which require motivation and consistency if one is to improve at them.
    We can’t run a marathon unless we are prepared to go for a small run every day or so, I think the same applies to writing, we can’t expect to write a master piece if we are scared to hit the ‘publish’ button on anything that may be less than perfect.
    Perfectionism is something that I also struggle with, so i admire your focus on consistency, and I think that is going to be my goal for this year -consistency and reliability over perfection.
    . Sometimes, i think, we just need to put on our running shoes or open up that word document and get stuff done right this instance! Procrastinating is easy to do, but doesn’t help us achieve anything in the long run!
    Anyway, thank you for this post, it really did resonate with me and made an important point.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I feel like you’re my twin.
    Scary…especially regarding the blog posts AND the jogging (well, I want to *walk* regularly, working my way up to doing 5k races every so often, but you get it).
    I came across your post today, while I’m working on my first post (in a long, loooong time) for my blog.
    I’ve decided to quit kicking myself. I don’t have to be perfect, nor does my blog post.
    I just need to write as if I’m talking to someone about my topic, make it reasonably presentable as far as typos and format are concerned, and hit publish.
    My goal was, like you, two posts a week—but frankly, that’s too much. Too much pressure on me.
    Until I get my “voice” down, until my confidence in producing a post rises, one a week is enough.
    I think you may have put just a tad too much on your shoulders. and after all, it’s YOUR blog. You may post at certain times a week, but do your readers actually read it AT THAT VERY INSTANT? like they have an appointment with you and they can’t be late?
    Great fantasy, but I doubt it.
    I subscribe to a lot (!) of blogs…but I read (in many cases skim) when I can get to them, not when they’re actually posted. I would never get anything done, never mind my own posts, if I tried to keep up with them that way.
    So. Cut yourself a break.
    Try one post a week. Post a second post that week if you feel like it, or it’s part two of the first one.
    You’re your own boss, and if you’re a shitty boss to yourself, you’ll quit.
    Then what?
    Hang in there.
    Kat 😉
    http://kathleenchristinasmith.com/wordpress

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kat:

      Thanks for visiting and your encouraging words. It certainly adds pressure when I am trying to stick to a blogging schedule (and the same with jogging).

      While without any structure/discipline at all, I can be setting up myself for failure. I’m trying to strike a balance between deadlines/goals vs motivation/inspiration.

      The perfectionist in me will never completely go away, but sometimes we just have to block out the other voices in our heads and go for it 🙂

      Cheers

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

