Too Big To Fail ?! (DP) – Fear to Fail Big & Resilience

Photo Credit: Celestine Chua

Tell us about something you would attempt if you were guaranteed not to fail (and tell us why you haven’t tried it yet).

This is an odd daily prompt to answer. I always believe that if you try to fail, you will.  If I get the “guaranteed not to fail” ticket, I’d move to one of the islands (yes, still obsessed with islands in all shapes and forms) close to the equator and watching money flowing into my bank account as I sip through drinks while sunbathing on the beach.

In reality, there is no guarantee that I won’t fail in anything. But that’s also the beauty of it, should I choose to embrace it. By nature, most of us, are scared to fail. I am never short of reasons not to do it. What helped me overcome (or temporarily overcome) my fear is to surround myself with those who are positive and inspiring.

According to the positive psychology course that I am taking right now, resilience, the ability to overcome adversity quickly, can be enabled and built, just like muscles. It is all about how we look at the negative things in our lives. Not to ignore it, but to face it.

Reflecting on my past, there were definitely things I would do differently if I were to go back in time. The outcomes couldn’t be more different had I pushed a little harder and don’t take people’s words on the surface. Those were lessons that I had to learn by experience. My wise ex-boss once told me that you can’t always merely tell people “the right way” and expect them to understand; sometimes you have to let people run on their ideas in order to for them to realize that what they thought was wrong.

There were some difficult, unexpected situations that had arisen while living abroad (due to privacy concerns for those involved, I cannot share details). Although all of it is water under the bridge, and I don’t see it as a bad thing that happened in my life, it still affect some of my decisions/choices since.

After these events, I avoided dealing with the aftermath of my emotions. I was obsessed and consumed with the fact that it had no controllable factor as I playback what happened. It made me agitate to think about uncertainty – the possible consequences of my decisions. A million “what-if” scenarios were stuck in my head and playing over and over.

Another thing mentioned by the positive psychology course is that thinking about the positive side helps overcoming the difficulty. One good thing did come out of this experience. I used to think if I can’t have it, I’d rather it not commence at all. I learned that I never know what will happen in life. Life is unpredictable and uncontrollable. It is full of uncertainty. After this experience, I realized I need to cherish every day. Even if I can’t have it all, it doesn’t mean I have to miss out on it while it is there. That would have been my loss.

I am often accused of having dreams that I wanna accomplish that are too insane or unrealistic. However, without dreaming of it first, it would never go to fruition. Thinking back about my decision to go to Egypt. I had doubts, fear, and worries, and concerns. I knew nothing about that part of the world. Whether it is backpacking in Southeastern Europe by myself or jumping off an airplane/mountain to experience the adrenaline rush, I’ve been dubbed by some friends as fearless. Moving forward, I need to continue to live through fearlessness and take risks when necessary. After all, in my personal experience, the good outweighs the bad, by far, as long as I look at it the right way.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Too Big To Fail.”

Too Big To Fail

3 thoughts on “Too Big To Fail ?! (DP) – Fear to Fail Big & Resilience

Leave a Reply

