The Happy Wanderer (DP)

What’s your travel style? Are you itinerary and schedule driven, needing to have every step mapped out in advance or are you content to arrive without a plan and let happenstance be your guide?

 When I was younger and was travelling with my parents, I was the itinerary freak. I have Excel spreadsheet of activities that fit into different time blocks. I wanted to see as much as possible within the timeframe that I have.

That has changed since. My love for travelling is intensified. Instead of merely sightseeing, I want to get to know the culture, the language, the food, and the people (etc) as well. It is not about seeing as many touristic sights as possible. I don’t need to gloat how many countries that I have been in the world. I would much rather talk about what have I learned about the country.

Photo credit: Brandon Satterwhite

One of the best things that can happen when one is travelling is the unexpected. You can’t plan it. You don’t have to be a serial traveller to have been on a lot of trips. Think about some of your most memorable trips. Are they the ones where everything went smoothly and perfectly? Or are they the one where some or everything went wrong but you still managed to have a good time?

The Happy Wanderer

Leave a Reply

